Comfort Food Part II

SONY DSCErika’s been so bummed that I haven’t posted her part of the comfort food dinner. And since I get to see her today for the first time in TWO weeks, I thought I should get my butt in gear and let you know about her delicious dish.

To pair with my comfort food, Erika made a really nice (and much more healthy) comfort dish of her own. She adapted a recipe based off Creamy Gnocchi, Butternut Squash and Spinach from a blog called Cinnamon Spice and Everything Nice (super cute name!).

We had no idea how to start cutting a summer squash so E called her mom. I thought that was hilarious because we could just Google it! But I also call my mom (and sister and aunt and uncle) every time I have a cooking/baking question. They are just super smart people and it’s a good excuse to talk to them … also I like them to know I make stuff. The phone call is basically a subliminal “I can cook! I don’t only order out!” I like to think they’ve got the message.SONY DSC

E is a wonderful cook. Always trying things I would never think of. After learning that we can peel a summer squash, we were rolling. An entire squash, some pre-made gnocchi, a mound of kale (not spinach) and lots of spices later, my entire apartment smelled like pumpkin.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

The combo was a very different flavor for me – I think there was cinnamon in it – but so delicious.

Jill topped off dinner with another ginger cocktail concoction. I was still in my ginger obsession phase. I think this was ginger soda, ginger simple syrup, lemon juice and rum. Nothing about this meal really matched, but it turns out that doesn’t make it any less yummy.

SONY DSCTil next time, cheers!

Leave a Reply

