Eggnog French Toast

SONY DSCDo you know what I have in my fridge? Eggnog. It’s just sitting there. Tempting me with its eggnoggyness. It would be super unreasonable to drink it all, right? Yeah, I know. So, I decided it would be much more reasonable to make myself some eggnog French toast to compliment the eggnog in my coffee.

Now that I’m taking the time to photograph and write about what I make, I also make the time to read about what I’m doing. I really like to learn why the recipe works, or doesn’t work. This week I learned all about French toast. Apparently it’s supposed to be all crusty on the outside and custardy on the inside. I just never knew there were rules. There are always rules.

As you may already know, I get my rules from The New Best Recipe book. Now, they did a whole bunch of research on the perfect bread to use (challah), but they make a special recipe for sandwich bread cause, honestly, that’s what most people have on hand. I used to make French toast by dipping toast in a mixture of egg and milk. Turns out, to get the “perfect” French toast is a bit more complicated. It involves butter, flour, salt and sugar which all do their part to make the French toast flavorful and crispy. Seriously, it’s like a cake. Which is probably why it’s so good.SONY DSC

French Toast for Sandwich Bread (adapted from The New Best Recipe)

1 large egg
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup eggnog
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 tablespoons sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix it all together and it will coat about six slices of sandwich bread. You’ll also need some unsalted butter for frying (1 tablespoon per batch).

Now, this is where it gets interesting. I’m not a big fan of maple syrup, so I drizzled my French toast with honey and added a bit of powdered sugar.

SONY DSC

No no, wait, there’s more. After I tried one piece, I made a second one and stuffed it with a mixture of cream cheese and raspberry preserves. I made myself a cream cheese and raspberry sandwich, dipped it in an eggnog batter, and basically fried it. It was delicious. I know, I know, there’s a lot going on in this breakfast, but you could still lightly taste the eggnog, and it seemed to go together pretty well. SONY DSC

But guess what? There’s still eggnog in the house …

3 thoughts on “Eggnog French Toast

  1. You make me laugh. . .and almost wish I was still eating some of those delicious sounding ingredients. . (NOT). And one question Kate. . .is eggnoggyness a real word?

  2. Pingback: French Toast and Christmas Tunes | Shining Like Silver

  3. Pingback: Monkey bread French Toast | LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

