Iceland!

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 10.15.45 AM

Great picture stolen from Kori Schmidt!

This week, my sister and her friends are visiting Iceland. She got a lot of guff for going to Iceland in January, but at the moment, Iceland is 50 degrees warmer than Chicago. So … way to make good choices, sister!

Their pictures are amazing. I’ve never facebook stalked so much in my life. They are hoping (fingers crossed!) to see the Northern Lights. Apparently, this is the best time to see them. Not only is it only daylight for about 5 hours, but every 11 years there is a “complete field reversal” of the sun’s polar magnetic fields which determines the intensity and frequency of the Northern Lights activity. That time is now. Yes, I looked it up.

IMAG0910

Best Gift!

These girls are getting to try all sorts of interesting foods like puffin and whale, which taste (reportedly) like red meat and “chewy”, respectively. I might get a more thorough report when they are back in the country.

I figured I’d make some sort of Icelandic treat to honor Jill’s trip. For Christmas my other sister gave me a book about how to select, prepare and cook with more than 2,500 global ingredients (awesome!). Whale and puffin aren’t in the index. That’s okay. Something tells me it would be hard to find whale meat at my local grocery store.

The weather does not make it conducive to heading outside to the grocery store (-14 degrees and over a foot of snow), so we’re working with what’s in my kitchen. After a little bit of research I found something called skonsur. From what I’ve read, skonsur is a soft, fried bread that tastes like a pancake, but is often served like an open-faced sandwich with veggies, cheeses or cold cuts. Skonsur is exactly like a pancake. You probably have the ingredients on hand. It’s easy to make and easy to dress up.

I tried my first skonsur with thinly sliced sharp cheddar and sauteed broccoli. It was absolutely delicious. I made a second one with some cream cheese, deli turkey and roasted red peppers. Then this morning I had to try it with butter and maple syrup to make sure it tasted just like a pancake. It does. Totally worth it. And I have more batter left over for lunch! I see another cheddar cheese and broccoli skonsur coming my way.

IMAG0924

White Cheddar and Broccoli

IMAG0922

Cream Cheese, Turkey and Roasted Red Peppers

IMAG0925

Butter and Maple Syrup

The recipe I found calls for 4 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder. Anyone else think that is a lot of baking powder for one small recipe? But baking powder is just used for making baked good lighter and fluffier … which is never bad in a pancake, or anything you’re frying.

Jill took her camera with her to Reykjavic, so all pictures were taken with my phone. Can you tell? I’m looking forward to getting her camera back.

Stay warm!

IMAG0915Skonsur
Ingredients:
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons sugar
4 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
3 tablespoons butter
1 cup milk

Directions:
Mix together the dry ingredients then add eggs and melted margarine, and thin with milk. Stir until smooth. Pour on a greased skillet and fry on both sides at low temperature.

Where I learned a bit about Reykjavik cuisine and skonsur:

Visit Reykjavik – Wine and Dine Section

Jo’s Icelandic Recipes

Taste of Iceland

Cooking Music: Melody Gardot

One thought on “Iceland!

  1. Love the versatility of your skin sour…recipe reminds me of Busia and grandma B’s apple pancake recipe…sliced apples in the batter then sprinkled with. Conf. Sugar or cinnamon sugar after being fried in skillet.

Leave a Reply

